Mesh Home

When mesh first came out, I was over the moon at how highly detailed and yet low prim/L.I. furniture became. It got to the point (and still is) where 95% of the things I buy in SL now are home and garden items. Gone are the shopping sprees on hair and clothing (although it does happen occasionally), hello to the wild abandon shopping for home items.

One thing in the home department though that I was still not SO sold on in being mesh were homes themselves. I like to personalize my home with different wall textures and not be stuck with what style the creator chose for me. However, that doesn’t work so well with mesh homes. The textures tend to be baked with shadows, while adding realism to the home, it makes it impossible to mod even IF the home was mod to begin with. The first mesh home that I felt I could mod somewhat was the one in my last home post: The Old Cottage from Domineaux Effect. I was able to select the faces of the walls and tint them without destroying the feel of the whole house. I figured that this is what I would have to do with mesh homes from now on and just live with it, unless you were like The DragonFly Cottage from Culprit where they included the baked textures for you to create your own textures.

Then one day, as I was browsing through plurk, I stumbled upon Barnesworth Anubis’ teaser of his upcoming home for C88. It is very rare to find a relatively modest sized home with 2+ bedrooms. I knew I had to have it. Along comes midnight of the 8th, and I’m doing my best to tp to Collabor88. Eventually after several tries I arrive and I head right inside to start the slow process of rezzing. Once I collect all the loot from this Mid-Summer Night’s Dream C88, I had head to look over my prizes. The very first item I unpack is the [ba] lakeside cottage. I oooo and aaaah, seeing such a spacious home with so few prims. I log off as it is already 4AM, and I am tired.

The next morning as soon as I log into SL, I decide to play around a bit with the Lakeside Cottage to see how it would take me playing around with the wall textures. I randomly start selecting faces of walls and throwing on textures. Wait a minute. I’m able to mod the walls AND add textures and not destroy anything! Some tweaking on getting the textures to line up (if you have shading or designs on it) is involved, but this is like being back with normal prim/sculpty homes! Needless to say, I am incredibly happy with this purchase and look forward to seeing what people come up with as they play with this home and make it truly their own.

BEFORE
LAKESIDE COTTAGE BEFORE 1

AFTER
LAKESIDE COTTAGE AFTER 1

BEFORE
LAKESIDE COTTAGE BEFORE 2

AFTER
LAKESIDE COTTAGE AFTER 2

BEFORE
LAKESIDE COTTAGE BEFORE 3

AFTER
LAKESIDE COTTAGE AFTER 3

Get it here

Leave a Reply

